Veggie Chili

Standard


It’s been exceedingly cold and dry and windy the last couple days. Although, from what I hear, most of the country is suffering far worse. It’s been ~60F during the day and ~35F at night. Freezing, alright. There was a frost advisory!

Anyway, combine that with an excellently timed cold, and I’ve been feeling lethargic and cold for the last several days. I decided the best way to combat this was with my favorite veggie chili, mixed in with a few random veggies I found lying around the refrigerator. Sadly, the recipe is from a now-defunct blog (I have it printed out at home) and I apparently didn’t email it to myself. Alas. Here is Robyn’s Rough Restimate:

1/2 onion
couple cloves garlic, minced (or a couple spoons from the Costco Jar O’ Garlic)
drizzle olive oil
2 regular size cans crushed or diced tomatoes (I think they’re 14 oz each)
2 regular size cans of beans (your choice)
1 smaller can corn (or use frozen, I think it’s a cup)
2-3 tbsp chili powder
2 tsp cumin
salt and pepper to taste
some amount of cayenne that I never add
1-2 c of stock or water

Sautee garlic and onion in olive oil. Add tomatoes, stir. Add all beans and corn and spices and stock, bring to boil, simmer for 20 mins.

I also added a zucchini and a green pepper to the saute party. This recipe works equally as well as a crockpot recipe. Just dump it all in, stir, and walk away, for, you know, ever. I’ve definitely let it go all day while I was at work.

Served most excellently with cornbread. Mmm, cornbread.

Great, now I’m drooling about lunch.

Also, I have Girl Scout cookies. This is a good thing. The bad thing is that they were just sitting in the galley kitchen at work, ready for you to take them. No waiting. /cookie monster
Mmm, delicious fundraising.

Leave a Reply

