Marketplace

Standard

Marketplace is an internal UCSD shopping site, for things like office supplies to lab supplies to computers to whatever. They want you to use it before going elsewhere. Fine, whatevs.

Before they completely overhauled Marketplace a year or two ago, one could go to the website, login, and then look at one’s order history and it would show you what you had previously purchased. Simple, efficient.

The current incarnation has clearly been designed by a programmer and then sent through seventy-three layers of bureaucracy and unimprovements.
This is the home screen:
Screen shot 2011-01-27 at 7.42.48 AM

So you think, ok, you go to the “Order History” tab:
Screen shot 2011-01-27 at 7.42.55 AM

Uhhh, POs? Invoices? Requisitions? I just want to see what I bought? What is all this?
Screen shot 2011-01-27 at 7.43.33 AM
I mean, I understand for people who manage other people and need to look at lots of different invoices, this might be fine, but for the average user?

Ok, well, let’s click on cart, maybe there’s a cart history there?
Screen shot 2011-01-27 at 7.43.44 AM
I guess recent requisitions would count. But, I have to choose a user to search for myself to search for my history?

WHAT THE HECK I WANT TO SEE WHAT I PREVIOUSLY PURCHASED.
I haven’t even gotten into actually searching for items. That would encompass an entirely different post.

(I realize this is really specific to me, but too bad, it’s my blog!)

2 thoughts on “Marketplace

  1. Mike

    That’s…not good. Looks like it hasn’t been touched by any of the rebranding they’ve done recently. Is it because it’s more of an admin tool?

Leave a Reply

