Lovely Lemon Cake

Standard

Other than the umpteen dozen cookies I made for the sysadmin meeting a couple weeks ago, my baking has been pretty non-existant lately.

However, my dad sent me an article yesterday from the OC Register, featuring the chef from one of his favorite restaurants, Britta’s Café. In the accompanying video, she made a Meyer Lemon Cake. I like lemon cake. Lemon cake sounds delicious. I also happen to have one lemon from our dwarf Meyer lemon tree, one lemon from the galley at work, and 5lbs of lemons from Costco. I like to keep lemons on hand, what? I had to make a special trip to the grocery store to get buttermilk, but it was TOTALLY WORTH IT.

I started a little late, but we finished it around 9:30 (don’t worry, Sonia, I saved you some).

And this the half that I managed to pry out of Mike’s hands to take to work:

The only significant things I changed: I used Pam for Baking, because that is how I roll. I also just made the glaze lemon and powdered sugar. I don’t know how much I used, exactly, because I make the lemon-powdered sugar glaze a lot for my plum cake and I just eyeball the viscosity.

Britta’s Meyer Lemon Cake

Butter and all-purpose flour for greasing and dusting pan(s)
3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups sugar
3 large eggs
1 cup buttermilk
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, Meyer lemons preferred
3 tablespoons grated lemon zest, Meyer lemons preferred, colored portion of peel

For the glaze:

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice, Meyer lemons preferred
1 pound box powdered sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
4 tablespoons grated lemon zest, Meyer lemons preferred
Cook’s notes: Pulliam uses a convection oven set at 325 degrees, baking about 35 minutes for a large Bundt pan, or until a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean. The temperature noted in the following recipe is for a conventional oven.

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 12 miniature Bundt pans or one Kugelhopf or large Bundt pan with butter. Dust with flour and invert and tap out excess flour.

2. Sift together flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

3. Cream together 1 cup butter and 2 cups sugar until light and fluffy in large bowl of electric mixer. Add the eggs, one at a time, and blend well after each addition. With mixer on low, add dry ingredients alternately with the buttermilk. Begin and end with the dry ingredients. Add juice and mix until blended. Fold in the lemon zest with spatula.

Spoon the batter into desired pan(s).

4. Bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 45 to 50 minutes for one large Bundt pan, or 33 to 37 minutes for small pans.

5. Meanwhile, prepare the glaze. In large bowl of electric mixer, beat juice and sugar together. With machine running on medium-low speed, add butter 1 tablespoon at a time. Mix until well combined. Fold in zest with spatula.

6. Allow cake to rest on cooling rack for 10 minutes. Invert on cake plate and lift off pan. Allow to rest another 10 minutes. Spoon glaze on warm-but-not-hot cake.

Source: Britta Pulliam, chef and owner of Britta’s Cafe, Irvine
Original article found here: http://www.ocregister.com/articles/lemon-284854-meyer-cake.html#article-videos

Excuse me, I have to go bury my face in the cake plate.

Leave a Reply

