Pumpkin Orange Cranberry Bread

Standard

After the pantrification yesterday, Mike left to hang out with one of his friends. I was trying to find new sugar bins online, and eventually settled on these Rubbermaid containers, because they are narrow, so I can put the white and brown sugar next to each other, and because Rubbermaid discontinued my favorite Stackable Containers (which all my flour is stored in). Now, according to Rubbermaid’s website, they’re sold at CVS, as well as a few other stores I’ve never heard of (Meijer?). I found them on amazon, but a commenter said he picked them up at Walmart for a song.

Well, I’m not a huge Walmart fan, and despite there being one about a mile from us, I’ve steadfastly avoided it. So I went to Target (also a mile away) and struck out. So I sucked it up and went to Walmart…and they had NOTHING. Grr. So I went to CVS (guess, what, it’s a mile!) and they had nothing, because, well, they’re a CVS, why on earth would they have food storage? In desperation, and also because it’s across the street, I went to Vons. They came closest with this Flex And Seal container. Still not a winner though. I ended up buying poppyseed muffin mix and some more risotto rice for Julian next weekend. (Oh, and then I ordered the sugar bins on amazon after all!)

I came home, and in a baking frenzy, made Mike his muffins for the week. I modified it to use applesauce instead of oil and egg whites instead of eggs, making them a lot better for him. Sure, they still have chemicals and stuff, but I’ll eventually learn to make my own. I just don’t like poppyseeds.

Then I made chocolate chip cookie dough and put it in a container to store until next weekend for a GIANT PIZOOKIE OF DOOM. Next, I measured out the dry ingredients for two batches of honey-yogurt-whole wheat waffles (adapted from Alton Brown’s “I’m Just Here for More Food”).

I was too tired by then to bake more, so I settled into the couch for some “Little People, Big World”.

But this morning, I awoke raring to go, and lo, into the oven the pumpkin goes!

(yes, that is a giant box of sweet potatoes behind it. I really like sweet potatoes.)

Adapted from LJ’s gingersnapps

Orange Pumpkin Bread

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 c. honey
1/4 c. butter, melted and cooled
1 c. mashed pumpkin
2 lg eggs
2 tbsp. finely grated orange peel
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 c. craisins

Preheat oven to 350 degress. Grease and flour 9 x 5 loaf pan (I used Pam)

Combine flour, baking soda, ginger, nutmeg and salt & set aside. In a large mixing bowl combine butter, sugar, pumpkin, eggs, orange peel and vanilla. Beat on medium until light and creamy. Stir in flour mixture a little at a time, until moistened (do not overmix). Stir in raisins and pecans. Spoon batter into the prepared loaf pan (s). Bake for about an hour or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes, then turn bread out onto the rack to cool completely. If the bread has browned quickly but is not done, cove with a lightly buttered sheet of aluminum foil.

Note to self: don’t forget the salt. Also, read that it’s supposed to be a 1/2 CUP of butter, not a 1/2 stick. I guess I accidentally made it healthier than I thought!

Leave a Reply

