Musings on weather and babies

Standard

A) It has been quite hot the last three days. Today takes the cake though, clocking in at (according to my car, which we will consider gospel, since it is my constant) 90°F AT THE BEACH and a balmy 97°F at the house. For comparison’s sake, the average high for November at work/beach is 72°F and 74°F at home.

I’m sure it won’t last and it a couple weeks I’ll be moaning and groaning about how we neeeever see the sun at work and it hasn’t gotten above 65°F in months. Etc. But currently, it is quite pleasant sitting on our patio, which is conveniently west-facing for pleasant afernoons. I’m listening to the hum of the air conditioners at the hospice facility competing with the drone fo the cars out on the main drag. Also, I get a wickedly good wifi signal out here on the stairs in front of the house, considering that the router is on the extreme opposite end, in a closet.

B) Earlier this year, I followed a link on a blog somewhere to this post

It really resonated with me, in the themes of liking life the way it is and not really wanting that to change and yet having my uterus (occasionally) scream BABY at me without any logic behind it at all. It’s quite an epic post, and I don’t hold it against you if you don’t read it. But there was so much written about whether said child should exist!

I continued to follow said blogger, and last night (she got married two weeks ago), she posted a 12-week ultrasound without much to do. At first, I was just surprised, as I had not been expecting that. But then, I was almost, irrationally, angry with her for not having a long expounding post explaining how this had come about after her previous anti-child stance.

Like I said, irrational. And jealous. People keep popping out the bébés, and Mike and I wait, because, financially, we can’t see how we can afford it right now. But telling my uterus that, no, it can’t procreate yet is like telling a screaming toddler that it can’t have the lollipop right now. It just keeps on screaming. Uterus-logic defies all brain-logic.

Anyways, that’s what’s been rattling around in my brain today. I’m kind of finding the challenge of searching for a topic to blog about each day invigorating. We’ll see how I do in a few days 😉

4 thoughts on “Musings on weather and babies

  1. Sara Kaup

    re baby – take your time – it’s a huge commitment and baby comes first before everything else once baby is here. do some traveling – we did europe, chicago, ny, philly, dc, new orleans, baltimore, cleveland, milwaukee, the list goes on before deciding at age 32 to pop out # 1; then had issues w/ conceiving #2 and hence the 6 year age difference. economically – yes – prepare yourself – we pay $980 per month for emily’s daycare; amanda’s after school program varies anywhere from $300 – $500 per month. then in the summer and spring break there’s the amanda cost of camp – $225 per week. diapers. clothes. food. college. etc.

    • It’s most the daycare costs that keep us from moving on it. Not sure where we’d pony up an extra 1k a month. Well, maybe if I stopped contributing to my 403b and savings. But that would just be dumb.

  2. Erin

    I haven’t read the post you linked yet, but I feel you on the baby thing. Only we’ve been trying for 18 months, so I’m BEYOND frustrated/mad at all pregnant women/ready to give up.

    Sorry, kinda TMI. All in good time etc!

    • We aren’t anywhere near the “trying” phase, but I imagine it must be incredibly frustrating. My cousin his wife just had a baby a week ago after trying for five years and three rounds of IVF. They spent 200k on this kid before it was even born. Srsly. If that’s not frustrating, I don’t know what is. (Also, his middle name is Thorleif. ?!)

      Ok, that wasn’t really helpful. But yes, it’s hard when it seems like the world just ups and gets pregnant and it’s not a big deal.

Leave a Reply

