Pumpkin (not chocolate chip) Muffins

Standard

Pumpkin muffins

These muffins are fabulous. They are perfectly balanced, fluffy, spicy (I may have a bit of a heavy hand with the cloves), and all around delicious. I would eat about 30 of them if I had three extra legs to feed.

3c canned pumpkin (one LARGE can or 3 small cans)
1/2c vegetable oil
1c apple sauce
1.5c honey
1.5c white sugar
4 eggs
4.75c whole wheat flour
1.75 tsp baking powder
1.5 tsp baking soda
1.5 tsp salt
1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
1.5 tsp ground nutmeg
1.5 tsp ground cloves

Mix together pumpkin, oil, applesuace, honey, white sugar, eggs. Add in rest of ingredients, mix thorougly. Bake at 350°F for 30-35 mins (regular size muffins). Makes about 48 hojillion muffins. Or 48.

The original recipe was 1.5c vegetable oil, no apple sauce, FOUR cups of sugar, six eggs, and white flour. And chocolate chips. I’m not against the chocolate part, but I’m making these on request of a coworker who asked for no chocolate. But, FOUR cups of sugar???!! I added a little extra baking powder because honey is slightly acidic. Next time, I may try all honey, though I have had mixed success with that in the past. I happened to be out of plain applesauce, so I used cinnamon applesauce tonight, and that worked fine.

Leave a Reply

