Invisible Illness survey

Standard

Invisible Illness Week (I was unaware of this)

1. The illness I live with is: Migraine disease

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: ’95? ’96? I don’t recall

3. But I had symptoms since: on and off since 1993, probably earlier because migraines in children are often interpreted as motion sickness or altitude sickness.

4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: letting people take care of me

5. Most people assume: It’s just a headache

6. The hardest part about mornings is: when I wake up with a migraine from lying down, but all I want to do is continue being horizontal and knowing that the only way to get my sinuses to clear is to get upright.

7. My favorite medical TV show is: Scrubs

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: iPhone

9. The hardest part about nights is: not knowing if the mild ache will turn into a migraine or go away or blossom in the night.

10. Each day I take: one multivitamin

11. Regarding alternative treatments I: have not looked into it

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: invisible. It can’t outwardly affect me.

13. Regarding working and career: I often go to work with a migraine. My coworkers are conscientious and will close the blinds. I occasionally stay home, but will often go in mid-day.

14. People would be surprised to know: I used to have an Advil tolerance.

15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: I can’t exercise or eat well reliably. When a migraine hits, I let my body rest and eat whatever it wants.

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: not sure

17. The commercials about my illness: make me angry because the people like, gently rub their head, and then take a magic pill and go about their day. The pills don’t work that fast for me and leave me with bad side effects.

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: Not worrying about overexerting myself

19. It was really hard to have to give up: I don’t know

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: It’s been too long.

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: I feel like I feel normal most days, just the underlying “what if”.

22. My illness has taught me: rely on the kindness of others

23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: “I just read a study about migraines and X (cinnamon/vitamin/cows) is the new wonder drug for migraines! You should take it.

24. But I love it when people: give me rubbies when I don’t feel well

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: “God (or whatever supreme being) gives the most to those he thinks can most handle it” Ok, that’s entirely not verbatim, but it was a line in the movie “Return To Me”.

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: Chart it, figure out your intensity levels and what you can do it combat them.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: How I can forget about it completely for a few weeks and then it will jump up and clobber me.

28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: make me food

29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: Sadly, I’m not, but I saw this on Anna’s and wanted to fill it out.

30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: cared about and loved

If you blog, or even if you just Facebook, I ask that you please consider posting this meme with your own answers.

Leave a Reply

