Mmm, blood donation

Standard

I just scheduled my next blood donation appointment (I try to donate every time the bloodmobile comes to work, but occasionally I have a migraine or something).

Looking at the Blood Bank’s website, I have donated 1 & 1/8 gallons of blood since 2006. 9 donations. I think that’s pretty cool. Each donation can potentially save up to 3 lives, so that’s 27 people that I may have helped.

I have the 2nd most rare blood type in the US (B-), and I feel good that other people with my blood type can get some blood because I donated. Even though I don’t like donating, and it makes me feel a little weak all day, I still feel like it’s a good thing to do, even if it does make me a reverse vampire.

12 thoughts on “Mmm, blood donation

  1. I try to donate as often as I can too when the blood mobile comes to work. Granted, if we donate 5 times a year, we get a free vacation day hehe. I’ve never reached the 5 though because I had to wait a year after my tattoo, then I donated, then I got pregnant. I’m O+, so once I’m able to, which is 2 months, I’m going to start donating again!

    • Our work doesn’t offer any incentives besides the “chance” to win a free meal at Snackropolis (worth maybe $5? not worth it to me!)
      Huh, I remember they always ask if you’re preggo on that info sheet, but I never realized that you couldn’t donate if you’re pregnant. Does it affect the baby or something? Or they just don’t want you to?

    • Our work doesn’t offer any incentives besides the “chance” to win a free meal at Snackropolis (worth maybe $5? not worth it to me!)
      Huh, I remember they always ask if you’re preggo on that info sheet, but I never realized that you couldn’t donate if you’re pregnant. Does it affect the baby or something? Or they just don’t want you to?

    • Our work doesn’t offer any incentives besides the “chance” to win a free meal at Snackropolis (worth maybe $5? not worth it to me!)
      Huh, I remember they always ask if you’re preggo on that info sheet, but I never realized that you couldn’t donate if you’re pregnant. Does it affect the baby or something? Or they just don’t want you to?

  2. I try to donate as often as I can too when the blood mobile comes to work. Granted, if we donate 5 times a year, we get a free vacation day hehe. I’ve never reached the 5 though because I had to wait a year after my tattoo, then I donated, then I got pregnant. I’m O+, so once I’m able to, which is 2 months, I’m going to start donating again!

  3. I try to donate as often as I can too when the blood mobile comes to work. Granted, if we donate 5 times a year, we get a free vacation day hehe. I’ve never reached the 5 though because I had to wait a year after my tattoo, then I donated, then I got pregnant. I’m O+, so once I’m able to, which is 2 months, I’m going to start donating again!

  4. Yes, you are absolutely doing a great thing. And good for you for going despite not really liking it. Too many people let their discomfort and dislike get in the way of donating blood.

  5. Yes, you are absolutely doing a great thing. And good for you for going despite not really liking it. Too many people let their discomfort and dislike get in the way of donating blood.

  6. Yes, you are absolutely doing a great thing. And good for you for going despite not really liking it. Too many people let their discomfort and dislike get in the way of donating blood.

Leave a Reply

