25 Things Meme

Standard

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you.

1. My parents have always had a computer. They had it before I was born. But we didn’t get a Mac until I was in 6th grade! We used to have this crazy IBM DOS thing that had a green screen and I played Reader Rabbit on it.

2. I frequently feel like I get invited to things just because I’m around, or people feel obligated, not because they want me to come. Even though it’s not true, I can’t convince my brain as such.

3. Noise bothers me. A lot. I can hear patterns in water, in the fan of the TiVo. Vacuums make me want to crawl the walls. And the child outside my building right now is running very loudly. Going somewhere noisy like a club or a bar just drives me insane.

4. I love baking *for* people. The enjoyment of baking is others saying “OMG YUM”. Baking is fairly cathartic, too. Just me and the flour.

5. I love babies and babysitting, but it often takes me a while to warm up to children. I’m not one to go up to them and tickle and interact right away. I usually let them come to me, if they want. But when we get to know each other, we’re tight.

6. I have memorized a ridiculous number of phone numbers for my users.

7. Number vs. amount and less vs. fewer mistakes are very irritating.

8. I’m a little bit jealous of all the people I know having babies right now.

9. I have been taking a picture (almost) every day for two years of the construction of the SIO conference center. It’s basically done at this point. I’m terrified to start phase II: the editing.

10. On average, I go through 30 migraine meds every six months. That’s about 5 a month. You’d think that would be one a week, but it’s usually several weeks with none, and then use several of them in the span of a few days. I hate hate hate the medicine. It makes me feel woozy and incompetent. Mike says it’s the closest I’ll ever get to being drunk.

11. Speaking of being drunk, I can’t really drink much without it hurting. It depends on the alcohol, but all forms eventually make my arms and legs and spine hurt. It’s hereditary and my mom says it goes away around 30.

12. I feel very aware of my teeth and everyone else’s now that I have my Invisalign braces. I can tell my teeth are straighter already. However, I have a tendency to gorge a little when I eat, since I know I won’t be eating again for a long time. No snacking.

13. I miss seeing Vivi (8) and Fiona (5) on a regular basis. They’re not mine, but I love them dearly. When I lived with them, one time, Vivi came to my room after having a bad dream and knocked oh-so-quietly on the door and got in bed with me ’cause she was scared. It was super cute.

14. I am TIRED of moving. Since 2001, I have moved seven times. I just want to be stay in one house/apartment/whatever for a while.

15. I have a bad habit of biting at the skin around my nails. However, my braces have made that really hard, since you basically have no ability to bite things while they’re in. Overall, my fingers look healthier becaue of it!

16. I shop like a guy. I don’t browse (unless it’s kitchen gadgets). If I need something, I go to a store, procure it, and leave.

17. I love reading the newspaper on the weekend. Mike and I make oatmeal, make faux-mochas, and sit around the table. It’s awesome.

18. On every trip I take with my family, I invariably get chewed out for not being grateful enough. I’m just not very verbal like that.

19. I could totally be an Apple genius. I took my iPhone in, and they were like, “Well, you already did everything we would do.” HA. (Although, my phone is still less-than-fully-functional.

20. Mike and I didn’t say “I love you” until dating for somewhere around 18 months.

21. I am constantly finding loooooong white hairs. Which means they’ve been growing for a long time. And there are a lot of them! I don’t like that.

22. I have horrible vision. My left eye is -9.75 and my right is -10.25. Or something around there. Regardless, without correction (hard lenses or my coke-bottle glasses), I can see approximately a thumb’s length away from my face. No, you’re wrong, my vision IS worse than yours.

23. Speaking of vision, both of my parents have glaucoma and my dad has had surgery in both eyes for cataracts. FUN! I have to have a glaucoma test every year, both pressures and that field-of-vision thing.

24. Staying with the eye theme, I future-ly hope that my kids get my blue eyes, but it’s recessive. Not likely.

25. I think myself fairly handy. I can fix things (and not just computers). I attribute this to following my dad around as a kid and going to Home Depot every weekend 🙂

21 thoughts on “25 Things Meme

  1. I’ll just chime in a “me too” on #s 2, 15 (the first part), 16 (which I would contend isn’t necessarily “like a guy” but just “logically”), and 25.
    Now I need to go write mine….

    • I find it comforting to know that others feel the same way about #2. Mike keeps saying “YOU HAVE FRIENDS”, but I can’t quite convince my brain as such.

      • Oh, also, #3 – I’m the same way…our fan makes this little “vrr vrr vrr vrr” noise, and I can’t stand it…but I hate silence so it’s even worse when it’s off…no-win situation!
        And I can always tell if a TV or monitor is on because it squeals. Ash thinks I’m crazy.

      • I can also tell if a TV or monitor is on or off. In middle school, the teacher would sometimes send me around at the end of the day to turn off the monitors, because I could just hear which ones were on.

      • I can also tell if a TV or monitor is on or off. In middle school, the teacher would sometimes send me around at the end of the day to turn off the monitors, because I could just hear which ones were on.

      • I can also tell if a TV or monitor is on or off. In middle school, the teacher would sometimes send me around at the end of the day to turn off the monitors, because I could just hear which ones were on.

      • Oh, also, #3 – I’m the same way…our fan makes this little “vrr vrr vrr vrr” noise, and I can’t stand it…but I hate silence so it’s even worse when it’s off…no-win situation!
        And I can always tell if a TV or monitor is on because it squeals. Ash thinks I’m crazy.

      • Oh, also, #3 – I’m the same way…our fan makes this little “vrr vrr vrr vrr” noise, and I can’t stand it…but I hate silence so it’s even worse when it’s off…no-win situation!
        And I can always tell if a TV or monitor is on because it squeals. Ash thinks I’m crazy.

    • I find it comforting to know that others feel the same way about #2. Mike keeps saying “YOU HAVE FRIENDS”, but I can’t quite convince my brain as such.

    • I find it comforting to know that others feel the same way about #2. Mike keeps saying “YOU HAVE FRIENDS”, but I can’t quite convince my brain as such.

  2. I’ll just chime in a “me too” on #s 2, 15 (the first part), 16 (which I would contend isn’t necessarily “like a guy” but just “logically”), and 25.
    Now I need to go write mine….

  3. I’ll just chime in a “me too” on #s 2, 15 (the first part), 16 (which I would contend isn’t necessarily “like a guy” but just “logically”), and 25.
    Now I need to go write mine….

Leave a Reply

