*sigh*

Standard

(Background: I changed a setting on a user’s remote desktop connection to enable her to access the internet again, after software updates changed things).

Her: That thing you did last week, does it affect my pdfs?

Me: Umm, no…

Her: I can’t submit the packages. It says, “Error, try again later.” *waits for my magic*

Me: Umm, I don’t run grants.gov, I don’t know why they’re having errors. (Silently) Do you expect me to magically know how to fix something that only you use regularly that just says “Error”? REALLY?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
In an ongoing effort to learn things, I tried joining my computer to the UCSD AD domain. It worked, and was slightly spooky (remembering that we use Macs, not Windows).

Then I joined one of our servers to it, and now I’m confused. The OS X Workgroup manager shows a weird list of users I don’t know, and I can’t figure out how to make it more granular..or..useful?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jess lent me the first two books of the Twilight series, Twilight and New Moon on Friday morning at work. I zoomed through Twilight by Saturday morning and thoroughly enjoyed vampire boyfriend lols. I started reading the second, and the vampire boyfriend WENT AWAY O NOZ. I spend 400 pages going “When’s Edward coming back?” I finished it on Sunday morning, then promptly went to cleolinda‘s hilarious recaps of Twilight, and read up what happens in the third and fourth book. Wendy lent me 3 and 4 this morning, and I’m already on page 264. 9AM. BY 1PM. I need help. There’s just so much sparkle and lolness and even though it’s supposed to be tense and omgz, I’m having trouble finding the actual plot, which makes it all the more entertaining. It’s just vampire boyfriend dazzle. (Not to mention that in the trailer for the Twilight movie, Edward makes me swoon, lol.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
On a totally different track, I am le sad that our Rock Band drums are dead (x3).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I babysat for Fiona and Vivi last night, and took over my oldest and most cherished American Girl dolls, Kirsten and Addy. Vivi was excited that they got to play with her new Samantha doll, and Fiona promptly undressed them. It must be the 4 y.o. in her. I remember changing their clothes a lot, but I was older, and they had *outfits*. I promised to bring more clothing next time, as Vivi only had Samantha’s flower girl dress and a night gown. I even have a nightgown that I SEWED for my dolls.

9 thoughts on “*sigh*

  1. I have Kirsten.
    And her school outfit and her Santa Lucia outfit. Ricky (corgi) chewed the candles off the christmas wreath – I had to buy wooden dowels to replace them. And Kirsten’s little doll… I never cared about the other American Girl dolls, but I loved Kirsten.

  2. I have Kirsten.
    And her school outfit and her Santa Lucia outfit. Ricky (corgi) chewed the candles off the christmas wreath – I had to buy wooden dowels to replace them. And Kirsten’s little doll… I never cared about the other American Girl dolls, but I loved Kirsten.

  3. I have Kirsten.
    And her school outfit and her Santa Lucia outfit. Ricky (corgi) chewed the candles off the christmas wreath – I had to buy wooden dowels to replace them. And Kirsten’s little doll… I never cared about the other American Girl dolls, but I loved Kirsten.

Leave a Reply

