Musings

Standard

Status Check

Teeth: Still uncomfortable. Each day, a new tooth decides that it’s its turn to be achey. I don’t think they’re moving particularly much, but I haven’t been able to bite down fully in a week or so? One of the bottom front teeth is pushing against the top and preventing me from closing my mouth all the way. I have another invisalign consultation on Thursday with a different doctor, just to get more opinions.

Wedding: We went to my boss’ daughter’s wedding at T-29 (ceremony) and the Aquarium (reception) on Saturday. It was very nice, and I got to help set up, which I love. At the bouquet toss, they invited all boys and girls up to catch, and Mike caught it! It was really hilarious, especially when the photographer made him go stand with the bride, and she had no idea who he was. I spent part of the reception making random napkin folds and the other signing to varied songs.

Photography: The stupid photography “teacher” at UCSD messed with the diopter on my eyepiece and a bunch of my pictures came out out of focus, even though I think they’re in focus when I’m taking them. I don’t know how to fix it. I messed with the diopter a bunch last night and it “seems” ok, but I don’t really know. I still lurve my camera, though, even if it’s big and kludgy and I hesitate taking it places for those reasons. I wish I had taken better pictures at the wedding. I feel like a failure for not getting any of the bride and groom. I wanted to be untethered, like the photographer, but I had to sit down in the middle of a crowd. Pics (that survived the DAMN YOU, FOCUS purge) are here

Rock Band: In my efforts to suck less at Rock Band, I’ve been practicing on the bass on hard and on the drums on hard. I’m not sure I’ll ever be an “expert” player, but I did manage to get through “Maps” on expert on the drums at 88%. Pas mal. I’m still kind of stuck between medium and hard on drums, where medium is too easy and hard can potentially be too difficult, but I never know. “Spirit in the Sky” sounds easy and only has zero or one difficulty bubs, but is the most ridiculous beat to wrap my head around. Only by the graces of “no failure” mode did I get through it.

Halloween: I want to go to Target and get some purple and orange lights to put on the gate of our house. I’m excited to decorate. Also, I’m excited to help at the Haunted Aquarium this year, provided San Diego does not burn down, like last year. I got my Robyn Hood costume, but I need to find a fake bow and arrow to carry around. And maybe some boots, because the “boot tops” were ridiculously large and hilarious. But that could certainly be done without. Maybe Robyn Hood wears clogs 🙂

18 thoughts on “Musings

  1. oooh i was right!
    I kind of knew it was him but I kind of didn’t and I didn’t want to commit any kind of relationship conversational faux and be like “that robyn’s a looker, huh?” and him be like “wah?”. Inner dialogue is fun especially when not totally mentally with it. For instance–at a wedding, particularly your own wedding.
    We saw some of the set-up photos you took–GORGEOUS. I’m especially appreciative since Lars or I didn’t really get a chance to see how the Aquarium looked as we were cloistered at T-29 with our sizeable families (families to the power of lars) for photos. Thank you!

  2. oooh i was right!
    I kind of knew it was him but I kind of didn’t and I didn’t want to commit any kind of relationship conversational faux and be like “that robyn’s a looker, huh?” and him be like “wah?”. Inner dialogue is fun especially when not totally mentally with it. For instance–at a wedding, particularly your own wedding.
    We saw some of the set-up photos you took–GORGEOUS. I’m especially appreciative since Lars or I didn’t really get a chance to see how the Aquarium looked as we were cloistered at T-29 with our sizeable families (families to the power of lars) for photos. Thank you!

  3. oooh i was right!
    I kind of knew it was him but I kind of didn’t and I didn’t want to commit any kind of relationship conversational faux and be like “that robyn’s a looker, huh?” and him be like “wah?”. Inner dialogue is fun especially when not totally mentally with it. For instance–at a wedding, particularly your own wedding.
    We saw some of the set-up photos you took–GORGEOUS. I’m especially appreciative since Lars or I didn’t really get a chance to see how the Aquarium looked as we were cloistered at T-29 with our sizeable families (families to the power of lars) for photos. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

