Back at work

Standard

Well, I have no idea how long my commute *should* be, today, as the first day of it, because there was a big ol’ accident on the 52, just west of the 805. As I stopped, there was a really intelligent car reversing in the shoulder to get back to the 805 ramp. Genius, there. The ambulances and fire trucks and police were coming on both sides of the shoulder, alternately (5 ambulances, two fire trucks, and 4 police cars & 1 police motorcycle, and 1 tow truck by the time I passed), and the freeway is not particularly wide there, so all the cars would scoot over to the right, an emergency vehicle would pass, then one would show up on the other side, every one scoots to the left, etc.

But man, I don’t know exactly what happened, because I was trying to read the CHP site on my iPhone while sitting there (which is like decoding runes while moving), but there was a car that like flipped over and landed on another car’s hood and had burned. Terri said she saw another white truck that was also injured, later. It was crazy, and terrifying, and I was really glad that the people were safely stowed inside ambulances, because if they had been lying around, I probably would have started crying, right there on the freeway.

ETA: Reading the CHP website, trying to make sense of what happened and I see:
9:08AM STAA GRY FORD RANGER PLT 7X09455 PER WIT THIS VEH CAUSED TC AND FLED
Some idiot CAUSED the accident and fled? I hate people.

Speaking of crying, the first two of these vids:
http://www.esquire.com/blogs/lists/5-olympic-video-moments?src=rss
totally made me cry at work.

15 thoughts on “Back at work

  1. depending on what time you leave in the morning, your commute can be as low at 15 minutes to 30 minutes πŸ™‚ I think leaving from Santee, it takes me 20-30 depending on traffic and you guys start off like 2-3 miles ahead of me.

    • I generally aim to be at work around 7:30. I left around 6:55 today, just cuz I was bored and ready, and was at the 805 by 7:03, sitting and waiting…

      • ya that traffic sucked ass. I had to trade off Drew at the fire station so I hopped onto the 805 to Governor. So I had to take the round about way. We hit the traffic at 7:20 something.

      • ya that traffic sucked ass. I had to trade off Drew at the fire station so I hopped onto the 805 to Governor. So I had to take the round about way. We hit the traffic at 7:20 something.

      • ya that traffic sucked ass. I had to trade off Drew at the fire station so I hopped onto the 805 to Governor. So I had to take the round about way. We hit the traffic at 7:20 something.

    • I generally aim to be at work around 7:30. I left around 6:55 today, just cuz I was bored and ready, and was at the 805 by 7:03, sitting and waiting…

    • I generally aim to be at work around 7:30. I left around 6:55 today, just cuz I was bored and ready, and was at the 805 by 7:03, sitting and waiting…

  2. depending on what time you leave in the morning, your commute can be as low at 15 minutes to 30 minutes πŸ™‚ I think leaving from Santee, it takes me 20-30 depending on traffic and you guys start off like 2-3 miles ahead of me.

  3. depending on what time you leave in the morning, your commute can be as low at 15 minutes to 30 minutes πŸ™‚ I think leaving from Santee, it takes me 20-30 depending on traffic and you guys start off like 2-3 miles ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

