Shutdown Day

Standard

Tomorrow is Shutdown Day, where you are asked to go computerless for one whole day, just to see what your life is like, sans computer. What counts as a “computer”?

What Counts as a Computer?
Our main aim is to get people just to stop and think about the issues mentioned above, so it is personal to each individual. If your wife often suggests to you that you are having an affair with your PDA, then switch it off! If you need your cell phone to arrange fun things to do on Shutdown Day, please keep it on and use it. We think the internet is the thing that people will find most difficult to separate from for one day, so the main idea is that you keep your computers/laptops switched off, but if you use your PDA to access the net then perhaps you should switch it off too. We suggest you switch off your games consoles on 03 May 2008 too, but it’s a personal choice.

Mike and I are definitely participating. Why not join the bandwagon? All those switched-off computers will save energy, too! 🙂

27 thoughts on “Shutdown Day

  1. Hmm… I just spent the last two and a half days computerless – and I survived!
    hehe
    Given traveling computer use will be minimal anyways (don’t need a computer while checking out all the cool stuff at the aquarium).
    That’s actually one thing I try to do when I’m over at the coast – or at least every other visit – to just not use my computer – I end up spending a lot more time reading books 🙂

  2. Hmm… I just spent the last two and a half days computerless – and I survived!
    hehe
    Given traveling computer use will be minimal anyways (don’t need a computer while checking out all the cool stuff at the aquarium).
    That’s actually one thing I try to do when I’m over at the coast – or at least every other visit – to just not use my computer – I end up spending a lot more time reading books 🙂

  3. Hmm… I just spent the last two and a half days computerless – and I survived!
    hehe
    Given traveling computer use will be minimal anyways (don’t need a computer while checking out all the cool stuff at the aquarium).
    That’s actually one thing I try to do when I’m over at the coast – or at least every other visit – to just not use my computer – I end up spending a lot more time reading books 🙂

Leave a Reply

