Wheee, calligraphy

Standard

I went to Michael’s this evening (the store, not the boyfriend) and picked up a small set of calligraphy markers and some calligraphy parchment. I was inspired by the DVDs in my Arabic book, where they show this guy murmbling things I don’t understand (yet. I assume he’s saying like “Next, we’re going to draw the letter blah! One more time!”) and he has this super cool calligraphy marker. I was like, hey, I could do that.

So I bought some markers. And I totally can.

From Random

Not too shabby for the first try! The top letters started as “baa”, one of the letters, and then “baab”-door, and then I added some random short vowels to try a smaller marker. The rest of it is the alphabet, mostly in order 😉

24 thoughts on “Wheee, calligraphy

  1. “I went to Michael’s this evening (the store, not the boyfriend)”
    I honestly laughed at that.
    Also, those markers are cool. How expensive are they? You just need some old papyrus or parchment to write on now.

  2. “I went to Michael’s this evening (the store, not the boyfriend)”
    I honestly laughed at that.
    Also, those markers are cool. How expensive are they? You just need some old papyrus or parchment to write on now.

  3. “I went to Michael’s this evening (the store, not the boyfriend)”
    I honestly laughed at that.
    Also, those markers are cool. How expensive are they? You just need some old papyrus or parchment to write on now.

  4. “Murmbling.” That made me giggle.
    Can you write out “This is not in English” in Arabic? My friend’s friend used to own a Chinese restaurant in Mexico and had “This is not in Spanish” painted on the wall in Chinese characters.

    • I don’t really know any grammar yet…but if you’re ok with a google translation…Oh oh, I can ask my friend Dalia, she speaks Arabic, she’d know 🙂

    • I don’t really know any grammar yet…but if you’re ok with a google translation…Oh oh, I can ask my friend Dalia, she speaks Arabic, she’d know 🙂

    • I don’t really know any grammar yet…but if you’re ok with a google translation…Oh oh, I can ask my friend Dalia, she speaks Arabic, she’d know 🙂

  5. “Murmbling.” That made me giggle.
    Can you write out “This is not in English” in Arabic? My friend’s friend used to own a Chinese restaurant in Mexico and had “This is not in Spanish” painted on the wall in Chinese characters.

  6. “Murmbling.” That made me giggle.
    Can you write out “This is not in English” in Arabic? My friend’s friend used to own a Chinese restaurant in Mexico and had “This is not in Spanish” painted on the wall in Chinese characters.

Leave a Reply

