Doctors are grrr

Standard

All they did was give me a different triptan (migraine med).

You know, and ignored the fact that my blood pressure was up, my pulse was up, my temperature was up. Even though I made a point to tell the doctor after the nurse was done. She was like, “Oh, yeah, we’ll look.” And did she? No.

By 6p, when I *finally* got out of there (I was there at 3:15 promptly for the appt at 3:30, but they “forgot” I was waiting until 4:10 and then I had to go wait at the pharmacy) my head was killing me. I got home and took the first pill (10 mg of Maxalt) and waited…..and it did nothing. I was seriously writhing in pain. I called my parents in some incoherent blubbering, crying state. (Oh, and thank you, Rebecca, for calling :)) I took a boatload of Advil and the second Maxalt two hours later and when I woke up at 9, things had calmed down. Thank god. But I was crazy dizzy and loopy 🙂 I went back to bed and slept until about 4:30 and then 5:30 and then 6.

Of course, this morning, I feel all the same pressure again. They’re getting rid of the symptoms, not whatever the hell is causing this.

24 thoughts on “Doctors are grrr

  1. ::pets::
    I’m really sorry. I wish I had a good suggestion for you, but the last super awful head-related pain I had was from the infection I got when my wisdom teeth were extracted last year.. which is definitely not the same thing.
    ::cough:: They say sex is actually good for a headache because of the endorphins. I think. But that’s probably more for heading one off, or dealing with a smaller-scale headache. You probably don’t want to get it on, though, if you’re writhing… in pain, anyway.
    Food? Hot shower? Acupuncture?

    • I’ve done the first two ad infinitum (I’ve almost gone through an entire Costco Cheerios box…it’s my migraine food). The thought of acupuncture makes me squirm.

    • I’ve done the first two ad infinitum (I’ve almost gone through an entire Costco Cheerios box…it’s my migraine food). The thought of acupuncture makes me squirm.

    • I’ve done the first two ad infinitum (I’ve almost gone through an entire Costco Cheerios box…it’s my migraine food). The thought of acupuncture makes me squirm.

  2. ::pets::
    I’m really sorry. I wish I had a good suggestion for you, but the last super awful head-related pain I had was from the infection I got when my wisdom teeth were extracted last year.. which is definitely not the same thing.
    ::cough:: They say sex is actually good for a headache because of the endorphins. I think. But that’s probably more for heading one off, or dealing with a smaller-scale headache. You probably don’t want to get it on, though, if you’re writhing… in pain, anyway.
    Food? Hot shower? Acupuncture?

  3. ::pets::
    I’m really sorry. I wish I had a good suggestion for you, but the last super awful head-related pain I had was from the infection I got when my wisdom teeth were extracted last year.. which is definitely not the same thing.
    ::cough:: They say sex is actually good for a headache because of the endorphins. I think. But that’s probably more for heading one off, or dealing with a smaller-scale headache. You probably don’t want to get it on, though, if you’re writhing… in pain, anyway.
    Food? Hot shower? Acupuncture?

    • I feel more or less the same. Lots of cranio-facial pressure and tension in my shoulder blades. I think the pressure evolves into a migraine. As to say, the migraine is the effect, not the cause.
      If I could only figure out what the cause was.

    • I feel more or less the same. Lots of cranio-facial pressure and tension in my shoulder blades. I think the pressure evolves into a migraine. As to say, the migraine is the effect, not the cause.
      If I could only figure out what the cause was.

    • I feel more or less the same. Lots of cranio-facial pressure and tension in my shoulder blades. I think the pressure evolves into a migraine. As to say, the migraine is the effect, not the cause.
      If I could only figure out what the cause was.

Leave a Reply

