Good night, and good luck.

Standard

I was walking to Vons last night on a mission to buy some Sudafed in hopes it would stave off yet another morning migraine (it didn’t). Some random guy passed by me and said “Good Evening,” and I was caught completely off guard and managed to mumble something like “gudeven” back to him. It’s sad that we’re all lost so much in our own little worlds that someone simply greeting us seems strange and foreign. What happened to Main Street, U.S.A.?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
nebyoolae linked me this article a few days ago, and it’s sort of been on my mind ever since. I’ve been dabbling in arabic for a little while, trying to pick up the script and some general words. Apparently, the FBI is always hiring linguists, something that sort of has intrigued me. It combines my love of linguistics and language with an actual job that does not involve teaching or homework (for the teachers). Obviously, I’d have to become a lot more fluent. And good. I couldn’t be a special agent (not that I would want to, however) because my eyesight is poor and you have to be something ridiculous like 20/20 in one eye and 20/40 at the worst in the other. I will never have good vision. I don’t know. Going to school to learn languages sounds like fun. I love studying the grammar and the vocabulary and the nuances and the morphology. Going to school for four years of speech pathology sounds decidedly less fun.

Somedays, I just have no idea what I’m doing.
And somedays, I really hate dealing with people all the time.

3 thoughts on “Good night, and good luck.

  1. i was iffy about going to grad school, but someone told me that i should go anyways. if i didn’t like it, then at least i gave it a shot.
    point is, try. like they say, it’s better to try than regret not trying at all. so take a chance, go learn some languages and see where it takes you. seriously, do it!

  2. i was iffy about going to grad school, but someone told me that i should go anyways. if i didn’t like it, then at least i gave it a shot.
    point is, try. like they say, it’s better to try than regret not trying at all. so take a chance, go learn some languages and see where it takes you. seriously, do it!

  3. i was iffy about going to grad school, but someone told me that i should go anyways. if i didn’t like it, then at least i gave it a shot.
    point is, try. like they say, it’s better to try than regret not trying at all. so take a chance, go learn some languages and see where it takes you. seriously, do it!

Leave a Reply

